top of page

Scientific Committee

Scientific Committee members, with the academic Trustees (Professor Mike Owen, Professor Peter Jones, Dr Vanessa Pinfold and Professor Clair Chilvers) make up the Mental Health Research UK Awards Panel. The Panel (Chaired by Professor Mike Owen) carries out the whole process of awarding PhD Scholarships including shortlisting, suggesting academic referees and prioritising for funding. Members of the Scientific Committee also advise on academic issues including the strategic direction of the charity and how we can maximise our impact on mental health research in the UK.

Click on the pictures to learn more


Dr Juliana Onwumere

King's College London

Professor James Kirkbride

University College London

Dr Heather Whalley

University of Edinburgh

Dr Emma Ashworth

Liverpool John Moore University

NM (2).jpg
DSCI0667 (2).JPG

Dr Nicola Morant

University College London

Professor Veena Kumari

Brunel University London

Dr Peter Taylor

Manchester University

Dr Laila Tata

University of Nottingham

bottom of page