Home‎ > ‎MHRUK Blog‎ > ‎

2021 PhD Scholarship Awards

posted Oct 30, 2020, 5:01 AM by MHRUK Administrator

 Our scholarship award procedure is complete and we are proud to announce the following winners, against very tough competition this year. We had 39 applicants for the four scholarships. Those that were shortlisted were sent to at least 3 academic peer reviewers and two service-user reviewers. We are most grateful to our reviewers, many of whom help us year after year. The Awards Panel led by Professor Sir Mike Owen then made the final decisions.

The 2021 PhD Scholarship awards are:

Eating Disorders 




Dr Francesca Solmi

University College London

Exploring the causal role of emotion regulation, internalising and externalising symptoms in the aetiology of eating disorders: a triangulation approach using longitudinal general population, primary care, and genetic data.


John Grace QC Scholarship (schizophrenia)


Prof Paul Chadwick & Dr Pamela Jacobsen

Bath University

Feeling de-humanised by distressing psychotic voices: developing our understanding and psychological therapy.


Fieldrose Trust Scholarship (genetics of schizophrenia)

Prof James Walters

Cardiff University

Integrating microarray and sequencing data to identify rare risk and protective genetic variants for schizophrenia.


Psychological Trauma Scholarship


Prof Andrea Danese

Kings College London

Understanding risk and building mental health resilience after childhood psychological trauma: focus on the subjective experience.